Hi El Moochadores! English author, Guy Adams, has an exciting new book out; The Good, the Bad, and the Infernal, and I read it! And I’m gonna tell you about it, but first read the synopsis:

One day every hundred years, a town appears, its location and character different every time. It is home to the greatest miracle a man could imagine: a doorway to Heaven itself. the town’s name is Wormwood, and it is due to appear on the 21st September 1889, somewhere in the American Midwest. There are many who hope to be there: travelling preacher obeisance Hicks and his simple messiah, Soldier Joe;Henry and Harmonium Jones and their freak show pack of outlaws; the Brothers of the order of Ruth and theirsponsor Lord Forset (inventor of the Forset thunderpack and other incendiary modes of personal transport); and finally, an aging gunslinger with a dark history. They will face dangers both strange and terrible: monstrous animals, predatory towns, armies of mechanical natives,and other things besides. Wormwood defends its secrets, and only the brave and resourceful will survive…

This book was a lot of fun! Adams has a talent for creating interesting characters that are definitely from off the beaten path. There’s tricksters, gunslingers, freaks and geeks (though the geek in this story wouldn’t give a damn about comic books or Star Wars, but instead is a throw back to the names original meaning. Also… eww), all heading towards Wormwood! My favorite characters in the book are the meeker guys (Elwyn and Irish) who find themselves either riding giant steam powered tanks or fighting against living towns. Adams also does a wonderful job of mixing Steampunk and the mystical. I love his writing for a town over run with rattle snakes, or a monk infested, steam powered, caravan fighting half metal, angry, natives! It’s brilliant! However, the book is in three different parts, each part telling of a different groups travel to Wormwood, and it was kind of tough switching gears after being with certain characters for a time. Fortunately though, this story is first in a trilogy entitled, “Heaven’s Gate Trilogy,” so hopefully in the upcoming novels the three stories will have time to come together as Wormwood is discovered. Go get your copy of The Good, the Bad, and the Infernal at your local bookstore,, or get an e-copy from Solaris Books!

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks